What I Did Last Summer

What I Did

WHAT I DID LAST SUMMER 
A Comedy by A.R. Gurney

September 24-27 & October 1-4
Live performances outside at Theatre Charlotte 
AND
October 23-25
Streamed from the Theatre Charlotte stage to your home

PG-13 

What I Did Last Summer is a warm-hearted, gently humorous memory play set in a well-to-do vacation colony on the shores of Lake Erie during the final stages of World War II.

 

This coming of age story centers around 14-year-old Charlie, a kind but rebellious boy who struggles with trying to be his own person yet trying to please his mother and his family. Before going off to boarding school, he takes a job as a handyman for iconoclastic, bohemian art teacher Anna Trumbull. As a result, Charlie is exposed to Anna’s radical perspectives about life and love, putting him at odds with his conservative mother.

 

“The play is warm, touching and humorous, with something to say about the conflict between materialism and idealism which is so basic to the American dream.” —The Stage (London).

performance schedule 

Outdoor Performances:

Experience this live production in the Theatre Charlotte parking lot. Tickets are general admission. Once capacity for a performance is reached, staff will assign seats to allow for recommended distancing between groups. Masks are required.

  • Thursday, September 24 at 6pm
  • Friday, September 25 at 6pm
  • Saturday, September 26 at 6pm
  • Sunday, September 27 at 2:30pm
  • Thursday, October 1 at 6pm
  • Friday, October 2 at 6pm
  • Saturday, October 3 at 6pm
  • Sunday, October 4 at 2:30pm

OUTDOOR TICKETS

Price: $15.00-$17.50

Streaming performances

Full production recorded live on the Theatre Charlotte stage and streamed to you in the comfort of your own home!

  • Friday, October 23 at 7:30pm
  • Saturday, October 24 at 7:30pm
  • Sunday, October 25 at 2:30pm

AT HOME TICKETS

Price: $20/household